• SPEEDBALL (Perth/Melbourne) – Debut

    Dynamic long-running Perth group Speedball was a jewel in the Perth jazz scene until its members were scattered across the globe (two studying in the USA, one based in London, and others relocating to Melbourne and New York)... read more


the immediate future

Nick Hempton Band

Nick Hempton Band (New York/Melbourne) – Debut

Sunday 8 October @ 8:30 pm – 10:30 pmThe Jazz Lab 27 Leslie Street, Brunswick (off Brunswick Street)

Originally from Sydney, expatriate saxophonist Nick Hempton (tenor and alto) has been based in New York for several years, recording albums there. In his Melbourne debut he will be launching his new album (released on the SmallsLive label) with a straight-ahead quartet featuring Mat Jodrell (trumpet), Sam Anning (bass) and Hugh Harvey (drums).

Tickets available online at The Jazz Lab

Tickets $20 / $15 concession

Read more
Aaron McCoullough Quartet with Matt Hoyne – Debut

Aaron McCoullough Quartet with Matt Hoyne – Debut

Sunday 15 October @ 8:30 pm – 10:30 pm The Jazz Lab 27 Leslie Street, Brunswick (off Brunswick Street)

This performance will see new works composed by Aaron McCoullough performed by an ensemble featuring: Tom Noonan (saxophone), James Bowers (piano), Marty Holoubek (bass), and special guest Matt Hoyne (guitar).

The construct of ‘place’ has inspired the writing process for these newly composed works, with each piece representing a distinctive coastal point of the Illawarra region in NSW.

Tickets available online at The Jazz Lab

Tickets $20 / $15 concession

Read More

September / October Brochure

Download a printable PDF version of our current brochure

Download brochure

The not-too-distant future


8 October

Nick Hempton Band

15 October

Aaron McCoullough Quartet with Matt Hoyne – Debut

22 October

Jex Saarelaht Trio

26 October

Leo Kavanagh and The Poor Unfortunates – Debut


About us

The Melbourne Jazz Co-operative is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to supporting and promoting original live jazz performance by established and emerging artists in Melbourne. Since 1983 our objectives have been to increase the exposure of contemporary jazz performance by making it accessible to audiences, and to provide award waged performance opportunities for emerging andestablished artists.
In addition to support derived from member contributions, the MJC is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body, and the Victorian Government, through Creative Victoria, via its Arts
Development Programs, and by APRA/AMCOS.

Read More


The MJC is funded not only through state and federal programs, but also by contributions garnered through membership. In addition, we use our membership numbers to demonstrate to funding and governing bodies that live, original jazz performance is an important and valued artform. Annual membership is available in four tiers: Gold level is $75, Silver level is $30 ($20 concession), Bronze level (for musicians) is $10, and Student Discount level is just $5. Membership benefits include free entry for one MJC performance by a Victorian act, concession entry to all MJC performances, special member deals on selected events, and regular giveaways through the e-newsletter.

Register for or renew membership using the form below. On completion, you will be redirected to the payment page. If you need help, please contact

Membership Registration Form

  • Title

  • First name

  • Surname

Your Email


  • Address

  • Suburb/Town

  • State

  • Postcode

  • Please select the mode by which you prefer to receive correspondence:

    ElectronicHard - copy

Membership category

Please note, Student Membership fees can only be accepted via Electronic Transfer,
and student applications must include an upload of a scan of your current student ID.

Student ID image upload (where applicable)


Sign up to our Mailing List


Comments are closed